Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices)

By Cassandra Clare

Genre- Fantasy YA.


In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…


We are thrown back into the shadow world in Cassandra’s second series. While this series introduce us to new characters but in the same world, we get to see a new side to it. In this series, the audience is able to discover the meaning behind many of the modern day aspects of the shadow world we read about in ‘The Mortal Instruments’.

I found this series more beautiful than Clare’s first series because of its setting. The descriptions of beautiful dresses and victorian London is something that really pulled me in; the characteristics of Tessa Gray are more calming than the TMI characters, her character is more gentle and cool headed but still has a fierceness about her. As well as softer characters Clare has kept some of the ‘traditional’ characteristics of family characters; Herondale’s from both series possess sarcastic but over the top loving traits that are common for that family. Although these characters have family traits they are also more classical and mesmerizing giving a realistic feel of that time period.

The series is a trilogy, there is also the graphic novel version of each novel which is a really lovely way to read the story after you have finished the books.

Although you don’t have to read the books in the order given it is recommended. If like me you can’t read two series at the same time I suggest reading TID before TMI, but if you do enjoy mixing series the order below is Clare’s recommended order.

After the events of the City of Heavenly Fire, the Bane Chronicles and Tales from Shadowhunter Academy follow, which are a number of short stories involving the characters from TMI. Clare’s third Shadowhunter series The Dark Artifices (TDA) was released in early 2016 called Lady Midnight, with book 2 to follow March 2017- Lord of Shadows.

Order of books to read.

City of Bone (Book 1- TMI)
City of Ashes (Book 2- TMI)
City of Glass (Book 3- TMI)
Clockwork Angel (Book 1- TID)
City of Fallen Angels (Book 4- TMI)
Clockwork Prince (Book 2- TID)
City of Lost Souls (Book 5- TMI)
Clockwork Princess (Book 3- TID)
City of Heavenly Fire (Book 6- TMI)
The Bane Chronicles.
Tales from Shadowhunter Academy.
Lady Midnight (Book 1- TDA)
Lord of Shadows (Book 2- TDA) Yet to be released.


Published by

Dream an Adventure

Ever wanted to know what books hold the biggest adventures? The biggest thrills? Dream an adventure is a blog designed to keep you up to date with the best fantasy themed books, TV shows and movies. Release date, info on all the best books, TV shows and movies.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s