Throne of Glass

By Sarah J. Maas.

Genre- Fantasy YA.


After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


Throne of glass is book one, of the series and it is a fantastic start to the series! I found this book pulling from the beginning, Celaena is a sassy strong character who’s sarcasm and one liner draw you in from the first page. Throne of glass is set in a fantasy kingdom of Adarlan that lost its magic ten years ago, with the magic slowly creeping back into the kingdom only means trouble for Celaena and all the kingdoms the King has destroyed over the past decade. This series not only keeps you on your toes the entire book but also through the entire series; Maas is able to write a quirky entertaining chapter and have it relate several books later. Maas has been able to keep her audience hooked not just throughout the first book but the four books following and a prequel to the first book.

Her plot twists are mesmerizing as well as her character development; Maas started writing this when she was sixteen so her characters have developed and grown up as she has which has made the series more entertaining and realistic. Throughout the book, we are not only going through the story of Celaena but we are also exposed to a bigger picture of the king and what happened ten years ago when magic disappeared from the kingdom. With each chapter, Maas is able to bring what seems like random information and plot into a hugely fantastic and detailed wider story, truly captivating readers.

Maas is truly a wonderful and captivating storyteller.

Throne of glass has become my favorite series, it has a strong ‘assassins creed’ and ‘Lord of the rings’ feel with detailed fighting scenes and character personalities. This series is a must-read for anyone who loves fantasy as well as a story filled with action and suspense. Maas is set to write one more book for the series, set to release late 2017; a TV show based on the series called ‘Queen of Shadows’ is in the making with a release date yet to be confirmed.

Order of books-

Assassin’s Blade (Prequel)
Throne of Glass (Book 1)
Crown of Midnight (Book 2)
Heir of Fire (Book 3)
Queen of Shadows (Books 4)
Empire of Storms (Book 5)
5 out of 5 stars


Published by

Dream an Adventure

Ever wanted to know what books hold the biggest adventures? The biggest thrills? Dream an adventure is a blog designed to keep you up to date with the best fantasy themed books, TV shows and movies. Release date, info on all the best books, TV shows and movies.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s